Categories
Figure Drawing

Open Session: Life… Tone It UP!

11 x 14 5B graphite pencil with white highlights on Strathmore Series 400 toned paper

Last night my objective was to add more tone to define the shapes. This is a weak area for me. One reason my drawings appear flat and lifeless is my focus on line and my neglect of light and shadow. In a 20 minute pose, I get so caught up in getting the placement and proportions correct, I fail to leave time to define the shadows and soften the lines with tones over the form. This drawing was done in 40 minutes and gave me more time to get beyond the envelope.

Still lifeless but did get some tone in this drawing. Can see I failed to decide on a focal point and consequently the face won by default because it is framed by the lowest values and has some detail.

Professional artist who attends the same session suggested I should look for and block in shadows as I search for the form with my initial light scratchy marks. After I consider the pose, the placement, the proportions, the center line, and the focal point, of course. Hahaha. Lot to think about for an old guy.

Progress not perfection.