Categories
Figure Drawing

Open Session: …Life

18 x 24 pastel pencil on toned paper
18 x 24 pastel pencil on toned paper

Was looking at some of my drawings done about a year ago at this Wednesday evening open session. The best of them show better line and tone work and are more emotionally expressive. Not sure why.

Perhaps it is because I’m less focused lately on getting the drawing “right” and instead have been letting my subconscious map out the figure without too much conscious attention. Also, been working more on my painting recently.

Still want to keep my eye sharp and a develop a keener sense of seeing – especially seeing my mistakes quicker and fixing them within the time constraints of the pose.

Appears my subconscious needs to pay closer attention.

Sounds like an oxymoron.

1 hour.

Progress not perfection.